side menu icon
 

Black Girls Matter: Girl Scouts for Black Lives

Date:
Mon Jan 18, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Grades:
Open to Girl Scout Juniors, Cadettes, Seniors, Ambassadors, and adult volunteers; younger girls can attend, but must be accompanied by a parent/guardian
Girl Fee:
FREE
Adult Fee:
FREE
 

Join USA Girl Scouts Overseas for a very special program, hosted by Girl Scouts Morgan and Makayla, the change-makers behind Girl Scouts for Black Lives.

In early 2020, looking for a way to process their grief over the George Floyd murder, Morgan and Makayla attended a peaceful protest in California. Shortly after that, the girls saw bad behavior such as theft and vandalism happening at other protests around the country. In true Girl Scout fashion, they decided to do something about it, and Girl Scouts for Black Lives was born.

During our hour with these inspiring Girl Scouts, we will hear more about the importance of peaceful protest and explore ways that youth can be change makers in the world. There will even be an interactive/hands-on activity to help connect your Girl Scout journey with advocacy. Everyone is guaranteed to walk away inspired to make the world a better place!

Who: Open to Girl Scout Juniors, Cadettes, Seniors, Ambassadors, and adult volunteers; younger girls can attend, but must be accompanied by a parent/guardian

When: 9am PST / 12pm EST / 6pm CET

Cost: FREE thanks to generous support from Girl Scouts Morgan and Makayla; donations to support this important work are welcome

Location: A confirmation email with Zoom meeting details will be sent 1-2 days prior to the event to the email address provided during registration